LSW – Licensed Social Worker – at least a bachelor’s degree in Social Work, ASWB exam, fee $75.00
CSW – Certified Social Worker – a master’s or doctorate degree in Social Work, ASWB exam, fee $125.00
LCSW – Licensed Clinical Social Worker – 2 years practice as a CSW with an LCSW supervisor, 150 supervision hours, a master’s or doctorate degree in Social Work, ASWB exam, fee $200.00
Application fee – $25.00
Three (3) year renewal period for licenses.
- LSW: Fifteen (15) hrs
- CSW: Thirty (30) hrs
- LCSW: Thirty (30) hrs online or in person
Temporary Practice is allowed for in state practice for 280 days but does not allow teletherapy.
Kentucky Social Work Ethics – Three (3) hour course that must specifically cover the Kentucky Code of Ethical Conduct with KBSW-Ethics Approval# on the certificate, every renewal period.
Suicide Prevention Training – One six (6) hours course suicide assessment, treatment, and management every six (6) years
Domestic Violence and Elder Abuse Training – Three (3) course required during the three (3) year renewal period following initial licensure.
Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma – One and one-half (1.5) hours covering the recognition and prevention of pediatric abusive head trauma every six (6) years
CSW’s and LCSW’s in KY can practice teletherapy. During the COVID emergency out-of-state LCSW’s can apply to see any existing clients in KY via telehealth.
Parity for teletherapy is required by law; phone only contacts are allowed during the COVID emergency.